09 November 2005

Scuba divers honored by Cayman Islands Tourism

Four International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame Inductees were honored by their peers and family at the fifth annual dinner held at the Marriott Beach Resort.

Coming from a variety of educational and diving backgrounds and fields, all four inductees have a proven track record of contributing to the development and growth of recreational scuba diving around the world...

The inductees were Ernest Brooks II, who has been a major contributor to instruction in underwater photography. Another inductee, Andreas Rechnitzer, Ph.D has been described as “One of the true pioneers of diving and ocean science. Dr Rechnitzer began diving in 1942 as a free diver and, together with Limbaugh, pioneered the use of scuba diving in ocean science, while a doctorate candidate at Scripps.

Another true pioneer and inductee into the International Scuba diving Hall of Fame, Dewey Bergman, led the way in researching, planning, organizing and operating top quality diving tours.

The fourth diver inducted was Captain Don Stewart. He was nominated for his founding of dive tourism in the Bonaire, a small island in the Dutch Carribbean. Stewart was also nominated for founding the Council of Underwater Resort Operators as well as his own diving resort.

Source: www.divenews.com


Post a Comment

<< Home